Title Change Announcement

My new release, originally titled The Lake House, now has a new title–Her Best Friend’s Lie. This change was made three weeks after its publication on March 17th, 2021, and, hopefully, will not confuse any readers. Everything else about the book remains exactly the same!

My publisher (Bookouture) gave me the title change news a few days ago after doing some market testing. While I was fine with the old title, I think the new title better encapsulates the story. It hints at secrets between friends, rather than just a house where people’s lives are in danger. While Her Best Friend’s Lie contains elements of horror (e.g. multiple murders), my novel is a psychological thriller at heart. I’m happy this new title conveys that message in a clear way in order to attract the most appropriate readers to my book. I hope you like the new title too!

How much does a book’s title influence your decision to read it? Have you ever been misled by a title? Tell me about it!

2 thoughts on “Title Change Announcement

  1. Hi Laura, I just came across the link to this post from your Amazon author page. I had wondered the reason for the title change. Now I know. šŸ™‚

    I can’t say I’ve ever been put off by a book’s title, but I have by a book’s cover. (This one, by the way, is fantastic.) A cover is often what first draws me to a book, especially with an author I’m unfamiliar with.

    I read and enjoyed Her Best Friend’s Lie and would have purchased it under either name.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment