Mystery Thriller Week Author Spotlight: Anne Carmichael

Today I welcome Anne Carmichael to my Mystery Thriller Week Author Spotlight series. I’ll start by admitting that I’m completely jealous of Anne who holds my dream job at a thoroughbred horse farm. No fair! Her new novel, Elderhaus, sounds intriguing and mysterious. I’ve already added it to my 2017 reading list. Now, here’s more about Anne: 

ANNE CARMICHAEL was born in Lexington, KY, Thoroughbred Horse Capital of the World. She began writing at a very early age. She majored in Fine Arts at the University of Kentucky. Anne has two grown children and five grandchildren, all of whom inspired her first series — a poetry collection about precocious children called, ‘ The Gertrude Ann & Banjo Series‘. Anne is internationally known for The Magoo Who Series, which includes:

…. and other books:

Enjoy Anne’s Blog: Geri-Antics: The Ramblings of a Crazy Old Broad on Facebook and visit her website: www.annecarmichaelauthor.com

elderhaus

Elderhaus Back Cover Blurb:  Gertrude spent the better part of her adult life scouring Europe for Helmut Klingenfelter, the father who vanished not only from her life and that of her mother’s, but had forsaken everyone in his past.

With midlife looming on the horizon, Gertie made the decision to stop chasing the ghosts of the past and return to her childhood home of Pitch Pine, where she purchased a century-old house at 1211 Castle Lane sight unseen.

Elderhaus, as it came to be known, had a mysterious past of its own, one that would threaten more than Gertrude’s desire for finding happiness.

 

 

Interview with Anne Carmichael: 

Hi Anne! Thanks for participating! If you could spend the day with any character from your novel, who would it be? Why?

The book has been out less than two weeks and I’ve already had a couple of readers (who are close friends) tell me that I am Sally Jaeger. Sally is extremely independent and take charge. She has no filter. What you see is what you get. That describes me to a T. Would I get along with someone as outspoken as myself? Probably not. Therefore, since Sally and Gertie became good friends in spite of their differences, I would spend the day with Gertie

What attracts you to writing in the mystery/thriller genre?

My first six books were all-ages books about animals. I switched to mystery because I needed something that would challenge me more. Writing a mystery, as I quickly found out was indeed a challenge because every sentence written had to be intricately woven into the overall plot and make the outcome viable. My next book is already in the works and will be more about the paranormal – a historical ghost story if you will. Again, I will be challenged to stay true to the factual portion of my storyline, while weaving in fictional characters.

Is writing your full-time job?

No, for the past 10 years, I have been the Executive Assistant to the President of a thoroughbred horse farm. I have, however, gone part-time and work only 20 hours a week. I now job-share with another assistant who takes over my duties each day at noon.

How do you deal with rejections and/or negative reviews?

Honestly? I brood for a while…not long – just a few hours or overnight and then I analyze what has been said. If it was said just out of meanness, I ignore it. If it was constructive and I believe it to be correct, I learn from it. I HATE it when someone who has never read my work goes on Amazon or B & N and leaves a one or two star review just to get a rise out of me or to start an argument with other reviewers. That brings down the overall rating level unjustly.

What time of day do you prefer to write?

I prefer to schedule my writing on days (preferably rainy) when I can lose myself in the story. I usually begin as soon as I get out of bed and literally get so wrapped up in it that I forget to eat, take nature calls and often find myself wondering why I’m having trouble seeing the computer screen (it’s because it’s nighttime and I’ve been sitting writing for 12 hours or more.) This has happened so many times that I now give my daughter a heads up and ask her to call me periodically and remind me to take a break.

LOL! I think many of us writers can relate to that.

Leave your questions and comments for Anne here, and stay tuned for my next Mystery Thriller Week author spotlight with Australian author, Sarah Key!

One thought on “Mystery Thriller Week Author Spotlight: Anne Carmichael

Leave a Reply

