Mystery Thriller Week Author Spotlight: Cheryl Lane

Today I welcome author Cheryl Lane to my blog. Her novel, Starlight Wishes, is sure to appeal to anyone who prefers a hefty dash of romance with their mystery and suspense! And to make things even more exciting, Starlight Wishes is FREE on Kindle today so there’s never been a better time to read it!

While interviewing Cheryl, I discovered that both of our families accuse of us cheating whenever we play the board game, Clue. Maybe mystery writers are just really good at playing Clue…Did our families ever consider that? In any event, here’s more about Cheryl:

cheryl-lane-headshotAuthor Bio:  Cheryl R. Lane was born and raised in Tennessee and went to college at East Tennessee State University before marrying her high school sweetheart and moving to Virginia Beach, Virginia. She started writing as a hobby when she was in college after purchasing a couple of Southern Heritage cookbooks, which were filled with pages of beautiful old plantation homes. She used to sit outside in her backyard and type on a manual typewriter at a picnic table under the trees.  She continued writing after moving to Virginia Beach and visiting beautifully restored homes in Williamsburg as well as plantations on the James River. She has worked as a medical transcriptionist for over 20 years while writing on the side, and finally decided to self-publish “Wellington Cross” on Amazon in December 2012. Since then, she has published more in the series to include Wellington Grove, A Wellington Christmas (a novella), Wellington Rose, and recently Wellington Belle. She has also started writing a modern-day paranormal romance Angel Series, set in Virginia Beach, which includes Starlight Wishes and Sunrise Kisses. She is still married to her sweetheart after 28 years, and they have one son and a Havanese bichon. Her website is www.cheryllaneauthor.com, and you can also connect with her as Cheryl R. Lane on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Goodreads, Pinterest, YouTube, and StoryFinds.

starlight_wishes_cover_for_kindlejpg2135Starlight Wishes Back Cover Blurb:  What would you do if you fell in love with your guardian angel?  Only you didn’t know he was your guardian angel.  You just knew he was a handsome, mysterious guy who helps you get your life in order and who has incredible blue eyes.  That’s just what happens to Cassie Callaway who, at sixteen, gets herself into some trouble in her hometown of Virginia Beach.  A guy named Skyler saves her from drowning in the ocean and she ends up falling in love with him.  He has many secrets, however, including the shocking revelation that he is actually her guardian angel, and that their love is forbidden…

See more of Starlight Wishes on Amazon.

 

Interview with Cheryl Lane:

Hi Cheryl! Thanks for taking part in my Mystery Thriller Week Author Spotlight series. If your book was made into a movie, who do you envision playing the leading roles?

I envision Britt Robertson as Cassie, Stephen Colletti as Skyler, Jennifer Aniston as Jen, and Keith Urban as Luke.

When did you first know that you wanted to become a writer?

I think when I first saw The Waltons as a kid.  I loved John-Boy.  He was my favorite character, and I loved how he wrote (typed) by the window.

What attracts you to writing in the mystery/thriller genre?

I have always loved reading mysteries since I was a child reading Nancy Drew Mysteries, Sherlock Holmes stories, and Agatha Christie.  I love trying to solve a mystery, trying to figure out who did what and when.  One of my favorite board games was Clue.  I’m pretty good at it, too.  My husband and son say I cheat – I don’t!  I just take lots of notes!

What time of day do you prefer to write?

I try to write from 3:00 to 5:00 in the afternoons and/or from 7:00 to 8:00 p.m.  I would write more if I had the time – see next question.

Is writing your full-time job? If not, what else do you do?

No, not yet.  Right now, I am also a medical transcriptionist and work from home.  I hope to quit this job someday and write full-time.

What are your hobbies outside of writing?

I do some kind of exercise every day, in the form of run/walking, yoga, Zumba or Cize dance classes, strength training, P90X and Boot Camp classes, bike riding in the neighborhood, or kickboxing.  I have participated in 10 half-marathons and countless other shorter races like 5Ks, 8Ks, 10Ks, and a 14K.  Other than that, I read every day, and on occasion, I do a little knitting.

Thank you for joining us Cheryl. It has been a pleasure! Post your comments to Cheryl here or email her at:  Cheryllaneauthor@gmail.com.

Stay tuned for my next interview with mystery author Judy Sheluk on Feb 1st!

 

 

One thought on “Mystery Thriller Week Author Spotlight: Cheryl Lane

Leave a Reply

