Book Signing and NaNoWriMo Check-In

book signing 2Last Saturday, I participated in my very first Book Signing at a local coffee shop–Biggby Coffee in Commerce Township, MI. The owners contacted me after seeing an article about my YA mystery, Trail of Secrets, in the local paper. Of course, I was thrilled to accept their invitation. Nothing makes a writer feel like a real, live author more than holding a book signing!  On the flip-side, I was also a little terrified. What if no one bought my book? What if no one showed up?

On the morning of the book signing, I arrived fifteen minutes early carrying a bag full of books and bookmarks. A table had been set up for me at the front of the store with a sign reading “Author’s Corner.” Another sign outside read “Book Signing Today, sign10am-2pm.” My heart skipped a beat. I couldn’t believe this was really happening! The owners of the shop even provided me with a free cup of delicious coffee–not that I needed any additional caffeine. My husband and kids arrived a few minutes later and sat at the table next to me. People looked at me, ordered coffee, walked past, looked at me again. I smiled and offered free bookmarks. Several patrons told me stories of books they’d written or attempted to write. My husband and kids left about twenty minutes later. I still hadn’t made a sale. I wondered what I’d gotten myself into.

Then, a woman burst through the door and marched directly over to me. “Are you the author? ” she said.

“Yes,” I replied.

“I’ve been waiting weeks to get my hands on this book!”

She had? I signed the book for her, not even attempting to hide the huge smile on my face. She paid me and we chatted for moment. Then another person came over and bought two books. Then a man walked in with his daughter and told me they’d seen my flyer and wanted a copy of my book. The girls working behind the counter bought copies. Mothers of teens and tweens came in to buy books for their horse-loving daughters. A few friends stopped by and bought books. At one point, I worried I might run out of books!

In the end, it was successful day. I sold sixteen books in four hours. I met so many interesting people and was floored by how many of them were willing to take a chance and buy and book from an unknown author. I owe a big thank you to the owners of the coffee shop for supporting local authors. More stores should follow their example, as it seemed to be a win-win for everyone.

The only downside to the book signing? I didn’t get to add to my NaNoWriMo word count last Saturday. It’s a little over the half-way point and I’m Printchecking in at approximately 20,000 words. That’s short of the 25,000 I should have had by November 15th, but I’m plugging along. I’ll check in again at the end of the month with my final word count!

Have you done a book signing recently? How did it go?

Leave a Reply

